Hamer Fan Club Message Center

I May Be Leaving

tomteriffic

If you don't hear from me after March 18th, here's why.

The more sharp-witted among you may notice that that's the day after St. Patrick's Day. I'm by no stretch an Irish/Celtic/whatever musician. I've backed up a few folks on their St. Paddy's Day marathons, but beyond that, I typically leave St. Patrick's Day gigs to the professionals. Many of whom, in this area, are friends and family.

However, we were contacted, via some of our friends and fans, by a place that wanted a band on the 17th. They'd had Irish bands in the past, some of the big local weights on the blanket before, but those guys were beyond the budget now. The name of the place? The Irish Club . (eeek!)

Now, my bassist and I have been playing together for about 25 years, off and on. We have our fair share of "gig from hell" stories. A couple of the worst involved being utterly and completely wrong for the room, despite assurances that we were exactly what the management wanted. The all-time worst involved the line: "Y'all can't be much of a band if you don't do no George Jones". To which I replied "Yeah, but we showed up, on time even, and we're sober". That went over a ton...

We went over and cased the joint last night and got repeated assurances that we'd do fine. Nonetheless, this scene keeps running through my head:

Or This:

We're going to throw a couple of Irish things together in a pitiful attempt at keeping the wolves at bay but I'm not very hopeful.

And then there's the matter of promoting this as a St. Paddy's Day alternative when a lot of our musical friends and family are doing proper Irish gigs around town. I'd like to retain these folks as friends and all. Assuming we get out alive.

There are a couple of other inauspicious factors as well....