Hamer Fan Club Message Center

Let me TELE you a little story ...

One of my best friends passed away a few years back ... He always used to tell me "I'm a Tele guy". Fantastic guy and fantastic musician. Once when he fell upon hard times I let him borrow my Strat and amp ... even though he was sick and also dealing with less than desirable living conditions and had no other guitars, he only played it a few times. "I'm a Tele guy" he said when I went to pick it up.

I'm not a natural musician ... painting, drawing, I can do that in my sleep. So for me to play something that sounds halfway decent everything has to be right. I had played a friends Tele in the past and it sounded like crap. Or I should say, I sounded like crap.  The damn thing weighed like 12 lbs. Just hated it. But recently I've noticed whenever I go over to a musician friends house they always have a beat up Tele partscaster leaning up against a chair or in a corner somewhere. It's usually their best sounding/favorite guitar even though they have nicer instruments scattered throughout the house.

I've been taking bass lessons at the local music shop. When I'm in there I've been looking at the Teles ... they had a nice American Standard, black with white binding that everyone said was their favorite guitar in the store. I considered buying it, i've been working a lot and have some disposable income, but it was a bit on the pricey side. What if I didn't bond with it like so many other guitars that have come and gone? An expensive mistake, that's for sure.

So when that very same day Dave posted the black Tele body in the for sale section. I jumped on it. Oh shit, what if it was sold? Halleluiah! I was the first caller. Perfect. Hey Dave, you wouldn't happen to have maple Tele neck laying about would you? Bingo! SCORE!