Hamer Fan Club Message Center
Sign in to follow this  
LordsoftheJungle

Looking for tips on learning bass guitar

With a Hamer Cruise bass en route to my house I'm looking for suggestions on the best approaches to learning bass. Best books, DVDs, on-line courses, whatever you think...

thanks!

Hamer Cruisebass 85 SFG Pearl.jpg

• Like 7

Train your ear and mind when you're not in the books or in multi-media learning.

Find a good Motown or classic soul station on your car radio dial and leave it there.

To "play" a bass, you have to start "thinking" bass. Pay attention to not only the lines, the runs and grooves, but to the interaction with the kick. THAT'S what makes a bassist versus a guy who can play a bass.

• Like 11

I've been playing for almost two years now and, much to the chagrin of my guitars, I have fallen hard.  For me, it started with root, 5th, octave, being mindful to not play too busy and try to hit the one with the root.  That will get you quite a ways, surprisingly enough.  From there, you start to learn little runs, walkups, walkdowns, 7ths and so on.  In my case, I dove right in with a band, and I think that has helped a lot, as the bass, much like the drums, can get boring to play on its own pretty quickly, its really a social instrument.

If you find its just not for you, dibs on that Cruise. :wub:

• Like 4

I recently read an article titled "How to Sound Like a Bass Player Without Sounding Like a Guitarist Playing Bass."

However, some of the "rules" touted are inherently ignored by Flea, Geddy, and Jaco. "If it sounds good, it IS good!"

• Like 3