Hamer Fan Club Message Center

Axis vs. Wolfgang

Axis vs. Wolfgang  

21 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I've owned both. I've had an axis super sport and 2 different peaveys. Both peaveys were USA's. One was a custom shop that was fantastic. Both companies make excellent guitars. I'd be happy with either. I'd give the edge to EBMM due to they are a smaller shop and their customer service incredible.

Armitage_Ernie_Ball_Music_Man_Axis.jpg

I've got an Axis... and while it's a beauty.... it's not one of my fave guitars by a long shot. I've never played the Peavey version so I can't comment on it.

P.S. Peavey customer service incredible too. They chased down nearly twenty year old Vandenberg parts for me, and sent them no charge.

I have owned Music Man insturments and never had questions about the quality. I also worked in a store that sold both Music Man and Peavey, stocking EBMM EVH and Axis guitars and a couple of Peavey Wolfgangs.

Music Man worked hard to get the EVH endorsement, and they made his guitar his way. Some customers complained about the string spacing and pulling the high E string off the edge of the fretboard. After parting ways with EVH, Music Man made a couple of slight changes. One was the string spacing, and I think they may have made the neck wider by 1/32" or something you could barely feel. It may have only been on one end of the neck. To me the Axis feels like a Music Man that is consistent with other guitars in the line. Some people find their necks smallish, but that may be just a weird perception.