Hamer Fan Club Message Center

"Social Distancing" made easy and personally-enforceable!

Testify! I started playing harmonica the summer after 6th grade. Amazing how it invokes solitude.

Wife HATES it, so the last 30 years have seen very little playing. I (serruptitiously) kept a Hohner in the car for my commute, but XM Radio stopped that (finally, something interesting to listen to).

They've gotten incredibly expensive. A Marine Band cost me $3. I went back a couple weeks later for a Blues Harp, which sold at a $0.25 premium. That was 1976-ish.

Isn't that the truth. Harmonica players have gotten a bad rap but it is earned. Of all the instruments out there, the harmonica seems to attract the largest quantity of idiots with no clue how to properly play in a band setting. 

On 3/20/2020 at 10:14 AM, shankyboy said:

Isn't that the truth. Harmonica players have gotten a bad rap but it is earned. Of all the instruments out there, the harmonica seems to attract the largest quantity of idiots with no clue how to properly play in a band setting. 

Spot on.  If I had a dollar for every time some guy at a gig showed up with a harmonica either off to the side "jamming along" (usually inaudibly), then invariably gets the nerve up to ask to sit in - OR - who sits in with somebody else's band (as it's always been a hard 'no' from me) and can't stop playing for even one quarter rest during any song...well, I'd have enough money to commission a sign that reads "NO HARMONICAS".

18 hours ago, aliparla said:

I guess it all depends on if you know how to play 😉

Don't get me wrong. There are plenty of great Harmonica players out there and I have had the pleasure of playing with a few of the best. Even they recognize that the Harmonica is idiot bait. 

8 hours ago, cmatthes said: