Hamer Fan Club Message Center

Serial number question....USA?

Hi guys,

I've got a serial number database I maintain at https://www.stillkickinmusic.com/blogs/still-kickin-blog/the-serial-bowl

This forum was very helpful to me when I was doing the entry on Hamer guitars. I recently had a guy reach out to me and ask for advice about his Hamer that I am not qualified to answer. He bought a Hamer Explorer and he believes it is USA made. I've attached the pics he sent me here. I'm no Hamer expert, but from what I've seen, this does not appear to be USA made. I feel bad for the guy because he thinks he got a USA Hamer and said he paid $850 for it. 

I thought I'd run it by the experts before I answer him. He thought it said "USA" on back of headstock, but looks like that might be "USED" to me. Any info appreciated.

1.jpg

2.jpg

USA Hamers did not have "USA" stamped on the headstock, they had "USA" in tiny letters after the "Hamer" on the front.

If the front logo is just "Hamer", it is Korean made.

The serial number for USA Hamers is never a sticker. It is stamped (or painted, I guess, I think) on the back of the headstock.

I think this is a Korean-made Hamer.

17 minutes ago, kizanski said:

They started doing that in 2000, I believe.

image.png

I offer a 100% money-back guarantee for what you paid if any of my opinions or observations turn out to be wrong.

but more seriously, is that only on the 3x3 headstocks?

I was thinking of the shredders when I said that. None of my Calis, Cents, Diablos, or even the Vintage Ss had "USA" stamped anywhere.  But, since you mention it, I do remember the USA on the more Gibby-ish models.  I just so rarely bought one of those.

The "USED" stamp suggests he not only bought an import, but a factory 2nd.  Fortunately, he didn't pay a US Hamer Standard price.  Unfortunately, he paid double+ it's real-world value.

3 minutes ago, Nathan of Brainfertilizer Fame said: