Hamer Fan Club Message Center

I'll Admit it I'm Overwhelmed

I've been whelmed before, but not quite like this. Here's the deal.

I've been playing for 65 years, playing guitar for well over 55.  In that time I've amassed a stupidcrazy amount of stuff.  Something like 35 fretted instruments (to include ukes, half a dozen basses, banjo, mandolin and several "special use" instruments that I bought for use in various bands, etc. etc.) a dozen or so amps, from MicroCubes on up, so many stompboxes I've lost track, raw speakers, parts, accessories and on and on a little bit of hi-fi/studio gear in there too.

Most of it is decent quality and well cared for, but definitely workingman's stuff.  Most of the "choice" pieces are gone to other HFC'ers or locally.  If I were to put all of it into one room (most of it is already) it would effectively fill the room.  But... my health is going, one finger on my left hand has gone into business for itself and, in general, any playing i can foresee doing will be to amuse myself or a teeming horde at a coffeehouse open mic.

So here's the rub.  How to vacate the premises and realize some cash toward a nice hi-fi system and a comfy couch without A) breaking my back  B ) working at it for years and, perhaps most importantly, C) not giving half of it to the IRS.  It could be viewed as a "pre-need" estate sale.

Local message boards via Facetube have yielded some results, I live in a neighborhood with a number of musicians and a couple of things have gone that way.  In the past, I've unloaded some stuff on the local Craigslist.  What I DON'T want to do if I can help it is use Reverb unless i can get compensated for the taxes and the hassle (might explain some unrealistic prices over there) and FeeBay has become overrun with thieves and charlatans.

So within the parameters of "I want this stuff gone reasonably quickly but I ain't gonna give it away", I'm open to suggestions.  Bueller?  Bueller?

TIA

29 minutes ago, tomteriffic said: