Hamer Fan Club Message Center

Bat Cat vs Matchless

I recently read a Gear Page thread in which someone wanted a reasonably priced alternative to the Matchless DC/HC30 and was told to look at the Bat Cat Black Cat 30 (which is no longer made).  Not much on the BC30 on YouTube, much less comparing the two.   But the Matchless sounds amazing.  Can anyone vouch for this favorable comparison?  

I have no experience with a Bad Cat, so all I can do is muddy the water. I have had really good experience with my Ceriatone Muchle$$ Lightning head that I ordered direct from them. I believe their DZ30 is the comparable model to the HC/DC30. There are a few demo videos on the site

https://ceriatone.com/muchless-dz-30/

Been looking at matchless and bad cat for a while, but dont own one - just bought a IIA, instead, actually.  But from what I gather, they are similar, some shared inheritance.  Some models very close - early bad cat 40 watt model similar to HC/DC/SC, etc.  But then as time wore on some divergence.  Both well made, generally, though some recent bad cat not in same league (this excludes most recent reincarnations as I have not looked into those at all).  All are heavy.  

All this Sampson made stuff I think is crap and selling hype, but he did go from matchless to badcat, hence the similarities esp early on.  But a matchless made today woudl seem at least as good as one sold for more that MS made.  So woudl not get hung up on year of a matchless amp and search or pay more for a Sampson one.

I have not seen a Matchless local to try out, but did play briefly through a 2013 cub IIr, and I liked it.  Still hand wired then. I did not like it enough to pay what was asked, but still for the kind of money those bring, they seem like a lot of amp to me.