Hamer Fan Club Message Center

Thiele TL806 Guitar Cabinet Build

DBraz

Question

After having bought countless guitar cabs over the years from 1x12's to 4x12's as a Rock guitarist I have come to the following conclusions:-

4x12's sound best live. They really do. Nothing quite beats the punch that they deliver, but a well built 4x12 - especially in the case of my Carvin 412t- weigh a LOT.

However, as far as a mic is concerned, there is very little difference in sound between a Thiele 1x12 and a 4x12.

The Thiele (Tee-lee) was designed by ElectroVoice to replicate the mic'd sound of a good 4x12, with porting, and was designed around the legendary EV12L speaker. Consequently it is perfect for this speaker and produces amazing results. Mesa Boogie used to sell this design but have since modified the dimensions of the cabinet to suit Celestion speakers they have and, in my opinion, never sounded as good since. A modern Mesa Thiele cab sounds boomy and mushy in comparison to big with clarity like the old ones.