Hamer Fan Club Message Center

What's the Hamer of... snow blowers

Toadroller

Question

My inherited late-80s Toro 824 (with PowerShift!TM and electric start) is old and weak and throws the snow like a public drinking fountain, and dang-it, I'm worth better.

Who out there can weigh in on the popular 24-28 inch $1000-$1400 range machines from Husqvarna, Ariens, Cub Cadet?  What sleeper am I missing?

I have a turn around driveway as well as a down-below large square area to get to the garage, so do need a workhorse.

The one your neighbor comes over and cleans your driveway with.

I've been using an Ariens 927LE for the past 5-6 years. Works great! But I think the machines with the shorter wider tires work better than the thin tractor type tires for most paved surface cleaning. I had a MTD, don't remember model, 10horse/26-8" that I liked real well. To me, the important number is the height of the input section. Having a 24-28" wide blower doesn't help much if it's only10-12" tall. If the snow is deep and wet you just bog down. The intake on my 927 is 21". I can handle about any snow I get. If you expect a lot of deep heavy snow I would look for lot's of horsepower and tall as wide in the front.

Ariens. Simplicity, some Toros.

I bought a cub cadet a few years ago but they are all made by MTD now. Not the quality they used to be. Avoid any brand with a Chinese engine if possible. The carbs are junk. I have used Stabil and Seafoam and every fall I have to pull and clean the carb as the float needle gums up and floods and won't start. I don't see it being a long term solution. 

Another good way to tell quality is by looking at the size of the gear case for the auger most have this little compact case but a good Toro, Ariens, Simplicity etc... will have a gear case almost twice as large, much more robust. 

4 hours ago, Hbom said: